Components Of Data Communication

Major Components Of Data Communication in Networking

There are five major components of the data communication in networking.

which are as follows:-

  • Message

  • Sender

  • Receiver

  • Medium

  • Protocol


  1. Message :- Actual data between the two devices or exchanged between Sender and Receiver.
  2. Sender :- Source of the data message.
  3. Receiver :- End unit of data communication.
  4. Medium :- Path chosen for the sending data over different mediums. like Optic Fiber, Coaxial Cables etc.
  5. Protocol :- Set of rules for the communication which is followed by sending message over different mediums.